Cellist Yoed Nir releases new “Next Dream” album on Spektor

Cellist Yoed Nir releases new “Next Dream” album on Spektor

Cellist, composer, and accompanist, Yoed Nir, takes another step toward center stage with his sophomore solo release, The Next Dream, due out June 17th.

Nir has appeared on over 600 albums with the likes of Judy Collins, Interpol’s Paul Banks, Rufus Wainwright, Yael Naim, Kishi Bashi, and Of Montreal, and was most recently seen touring the world with Regina Spektor as part of her live band.The experience of working with a small army of elite artists over the years has produced a mature, nuanced musician and composer set to take the contemporary, classical, and indie music worlds by storm.

Since completing his classical music studies at the Jerusalem Music Academy, Yoed Nir has worked to develop a signature cello sound, distinct and identifiable in any musical context. On the path to discovering the voice of his music, Nir experimented with and explored a wide range of extended instrumental techniques which enables him to layer multiple sonorities to create new textures and sound fields for the cello as a solo and ensemble instrument. The Next Dream features Nir’s own music in which listeners can hear the full spectrum of his influences from Bela Bartok and Dmitri Shostakovich to Umm Kulthum, Antonio Carlos Jobim and Jimi Hendrix at the other end of the spectrum.

The intention of the nine-track album revealed itself after the completion of the record. Having written, arranged and performed the album, Nir realized that he had created a song cycle to accompany the dreams of the listener. In the footprint of his first release (Suspended Hours, 2013), the majority of what you hear on the record is Nir layering numerous cello tracks with minimal yet haunting vocals. The difference lies in the addition of an array of powerhouse collaborators,including violinist/vocalist Kishi Bashi and vocalist Sonya Kitchell.

The track listing includes:
1.       Awaken Love feat. Sonya Kitchell
2.       Devil’s Dance
3.       Time is Up
4.       No Chance Survival
5.       To The Unknown feat. Kishi Bashi
6.       My Last Breath
7.       It’s a New Beginning
8.       Burned With Desire feat. Keiko Ishibashi
9.       Traveling Through The Dark

For more information on The Next Dream and Yoed Nir, please visit:

www.yoednir.com | www.facebook.com/yoednirmusic | twitter.com/yoednir


Israeli born cellist Yoed Nir has worked with Grammy-winning artists, toured with pop legends, and performed at an Emmy-nominated live concert for PBS. Having studied in the finest of music conservatories and performed on over 600 albums with renowned performers such as Yael Naim, Kishibashi, and Regina Spektor, Nir’s unique musical background has granted him the ability to explore a mixture of genres from pop and jazz to rock. As a solo musician and composer, Nir released his debut album, Suspended Hours, in 2013, and is poised to release his second solo album, The Next Dream, in June.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Notify of